Amber Laurin's Blog

PRactice makes perfect… my first blog!

Social Media Karma June 3, 2010

Filed under: PR Connections,PRCA 3330 — amberlaurin @ 10:02 am

PR Daily recently posted, 10 Ways to Improve Your Social Media Karma.  Building relationships is important in any industry, but social media karma is the idea that what you do and how you behave will ultimately have an effect on you directly or indirectly.  Social media karma is not only important to professionals but also to people who have a blog and are actively involved in social media.  Here are the ten ways anyone can improve their karma:

  1. Be Real. Being real involves not lying, being transparent about who you are and what you believe, and sharing an honest voice.  If you don’t voice your own opinion you will be lost in the virtual crowd.
  2. Respond to emails. Not only respond to them but write personal, thoughful replys.
  3. Offer exclusives. If you are going to write about or post something interesting, whether related to your business or not, offer a preview to others in your network.  Share ideas as they happen and offer the chance for others to say it first.
  4. Make Connections. If you can be the person making these connections between individuals that may not have met otherwise, you will be remembered by both for your efforts.  NETWORK, NETWORK, NETWORK!
  5. Join Networks. Join networks of people that share the same interest.  This gives you the opportunity to share something new, or to learn something new yourself.
  6. Avoid Snark. No one likes rude people, in either the virtual or the real world.  Avoid making rude, uselessly opinionated, or arrogant.
  7. Forgive mistakes. Mistakes are made and people screw up.  Everyone is human so if the mistake is fixed, leave it alone.
  8. Post to contact. Link to other blogs, when writing about their ideas.  It lets them know that you find what they are posting interesting.
  9. Comment and Participate. Be a participate not an observer.
  10. Show gratitude. Thank those who comment, and  link to your blog.

Being new to the blogging world, this post was extremely helpful in giving me tips and ideas on how to gain more traffic to my personal blog.  I also think that these tips will be helpful to anyone who is starting out in the virtual world.

 

5 Responses to “Social Media Karma”

  1. Amy Says:

    This post was extremely interesting and it is very helpful to a new blogger such as myself. I have used facebook for a few years now and have used very poor grammar and language usage when talking with my friends online. Now that I am blogging for a class for the first time I have to step back and take a look at exactly what I am writing and if what I am writing even makes any sense. I never in a million years thought that blogging really had so many rules and regulations per say, but once you get the hang of it, it really is not too difficult. I do believe that blogging really is pointless if you do not keep up with your posts and build connections with other bloggers. Building connections and leaving posts that receive comments I believe is the main focus of blogging as a whole. These tips are very helpful and I will continue to try and keep them in the back of my mind as I continue to blog in the future.

  2. […] Social Media karma From:amberlaurin […]

  3. jd02319 Says:

    Amber,
    This post is extremely helpful! I actually had no idea it existed! I think the most important thing out of the ten tips is networking. If you don’t know people, how are they supposed to know you? This is something I am going to have to start working on. I know no one in my business-excluding our professors, of course. Even so, if I am planning on breaking into the business soon, I should really put my name out there and make sure I have some choices! Do you agree?
    -Jessica Dennis

  4. […] #9 Tips To Improve Your Social Media Karma Amber, This post is extremely helpful! I actually had no idea it existed! I think the most important thing out of the ten tips is networking. If you don’t know people, how are they supposed to know you? This is something I am going to have to start working on. I know no one in my business-excluding our professors, of course. Even so, if I am planning on breaking into the business soon, I should really put my name out there and make sure I have some choices! Do you agree? -Jessica Dennis June 12, 2010 Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Weblog 2: What Do I Think?Read and React:The Age of DistractionThe Cell Phone Revolution  May 28, 2010  jd02319 Categories: Blog Comments […]

  5. […] Social Media karma From:amberlaurin […]


Leave a Reply

