Amber Laurin's Blog

PRactice makes perfect… my first blog!

T.O.W 5 June 17, 2010

Filed under: PRCA 2330,TOWS — amberlaurin @ 10:12 am

For this weeks topic I will be discussing my one week of twitter.  I had never used twitter prior to this class but I learned a lot during this week.  The most common assumption of non-twitter users is that twitter is comparable to facebook status’.  This could not be more wrong.  Twitter updates are more professional and often include a link to a blog, or website with interesting information.  I learned a lot about PR by following a list of a PR professionals provided by Barbara Nixon.  I also followed several celebrities, and news sources.  I retweeted several of my fellow classmates as well as a couple PR professionals throughout the week. 

The main thing that surprised me about twitter was how close I felt to the people I followed.  I will use twitter to further network and hopefully one day to make connections and enter the PR field.  At first I didn’t think I would like twitter and thought it would be a hassle, but after this week I think I will continue to use it.  I downloaded it on my phone so checking twitter is very easy, and once you get the hang of it actively participating is easy as well. 

One thing I would like are suggestions of interesting people to follow.  So if you are reading this post please comment!

 

3 Responses to “T.O.W 5”

  1. skred Says:

    Amber, I feel the same way! It is amazing how closely nit Twitter seems. Instead of being a message for EVERYONE and ANYONE- it can really be limited and meaningful. It is also nice that we can use twitter to futher network and make those connections. When we have connections, like I told Allie- it’s easier to learn because instead of having to do everything on your own, you have a network of people who can help guide you in the right direction. I’m glad to see that you liked Twitter and found it easy to use. Honestly, I think Twitter is probably the easiest webpage to use, so long as you know ANYTHING about computers! 🙂
    Also- if you go through blogs like Professor Nixon, or PR OpenMic, or Ragans PR Daily- usually there are people who comment on topics on those pages. I have found these to be a great source for people to follow on Twitter. It’s a great way to keep up with people involved in PR!

  2. […] Link to the blog Amber, I feel the same way! It is amazing how closely nit Twitter seems. Instead of being a message for EVERYONE and ANYONE- it can really be limited and meaningful. It is also nice that we can use twitter to futher network and make those connections. When we have connections, like I told Allie- it’s easier to learn because instead of having to do everything on your own, you have a network of people who can help guide you in the right direction. I’m glad to see that you liked Twitter and found it easy to use. Honestly, I think Twitter is probably the easiest webpage to use, so long as you know ANYTHING about computers! Also- if you go through blogs like Professor Nixon, or PR OpenMic, or Ragans PR Daily- usually there are people who comment on topics on those pages. I have found these to be a great source for people to follow on Twitter. It’s a great way to keep up with people involved in PR! Posted by skred Filed in Blog Comments Leave a Comment » […]

  3. hhiggs87 Says:

    If you want to use twitter to further your PR career then follow PR professionals. Professor Nixon created a great list of them and their twitter names and it is posted on her blog. Also, follow PR organizations: National PRSSA, PRSA Georgia, National PRSA and GSU_PRSSA.


Leave a Reply

