Amber Laurin's Blog

PRactice makes perfect… my first blog!

TOW 9: PROpenMic November 29, 2010

Filed under: PRCA 3330,TOWS — amberlaurin @ 2:36 pm


I am actively involved in several networking sites including Facebook and Twitter. I recently joined PrOpenMic and so far have enjoyed exploring the site. This is an excellent networking site created for PR professionals, students, and recent graduates. Here are few sections that I found most interesting:

1. Jobs/Internships: This area is most beneficial to recent graduates and PR students looking for internships. There is an area to search recent postings, links to jobs/internships resources, and other helpful information.

2.Blogs: This section was the most interesting to me. It lists recent blog post by members. This area provided me with several resources for my PR Writing class in particular. I was able to comment on other PR student and professionals blogs and also network.

3. Forums: I found this area to set PR OpenMic apart from all other networking sites. Members are able to post discussion questions and other users can reply or post additional questions. I saw several members who posted links to survey’s for their PR classes or businesses. This sparked an interest because for my PR Research class this semester we had to give a survey out about inadequate exercise, if I would have been more familiar with the site I could have posted it in the forum and received responses from students and professionals from all over.

Overall I am extremely impressed with the layout, ease of use, and features of PROpenMic. I will definetly be using this to network with professionals and students from all over the US.

 

Leave a Reply

